KU living tobacco-free to uphold a respectful environment

Steering Committee

The project Steering Committee is responsible for managing this initiative. Its membership includes (2017-2018):




Savanna Cox



Charlie Bryan

Community Health Planner

Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department

Derek Reed

Assistant Professor

Applied Behavioral Sciences

Gideon Naudé

Graduate Student

Applied Behavioral Sciences

Heidi Garcia

Program Director

KU Health Education Resource Office

Kim Richter


KUMC Cancer  Center/Preventive Medicine & Public Health

Miranda Kolenda

Assistant Director of Fitness and Wellness

KU Recreation Services

Monica Marcolino

Benefits Manager

KU Human Resources

Ola Faucher


KU Human Resources

Patty Quinlan Registered Nurse Watkins Health Services
Claire Byers Vice President B.E.A.K.


The Steering Committee supports the initiative by:

• determining how a tobacco-free KU environment may be best achieved;

• communicating project progress;

• developing and advocating for a tobacco-free policy;

• developing and implementing educational programs and events;

• facilitating collaboration with KU, local, and state community contacts;

• identifying and managing supporting resources as appropriate;

• recommending supporting changes to key administrative contacts;

• and serving as cultural change agents.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today