KU living tobacco-free to uphold a respectful environment

Stakeholder Committee

The initiative is most successful as a partnership with the collaboration of KU, local, and state community members. The project Stakeholder Committee was composed of (2015-2016):




Erica Anderson

Population Health Engagement Strategist


Vince Avila/Guy Price

Director/Zone Manager

Facilities Services

Delores Barnard


 Staff Senate

Jose Belardo

Regional Health Administrator


Jessica Boyle

HR Manager

Kansas Memorial Student Unions

Charlie Bryan

Community Health Planner

Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department

Claire Byers Vice President B.E.A.K.

Yvonnes Chen

Associate Professor

Journalism & Chair of Live Well Tobacco Free Coalition

Laurie Comstock

Director of Special Projects

KU Endowment

Savanna Cox



Ed Ellerbeck


KUMC Cancer  Center/Preventive Medicine & Public Health

Ola Faucher


KU Human Resources

Kelsey Fortin

Education Program Coordinator

Watkins Health Services

Heidi Garcia

Program Director

Watkins Health Services

Karen Grajczyk

Education Program Coordinator Watkins Health Services

Kip Grosshans

Associate Director

Student Housing

Chris Keary

Chief of Police

KU Public Safety

Miranda Kolenda

Asst. Director Fitness/Wellness

KU Recreation Services

Monica Marcolino

Benefits Manager

KU Human Resources

Sherry Mirador

ORISE Fellow


Joe Monaco

Associate Director

Public Affairs

Patty Quinlan

Registered Nurse Watkins Health Services

Gideon Naudé

Graduate Student

Applied Behavioral Sciences

Frank Reeb

HR Director

Athletics Corporation

Derek Reed

Assistant Professor

Applied Behavioral Sciences

Kim Richter


KUMC Cancer  Center/Preventive Medicine & Public Health

Jordan Roberts

Community Health Specialist

Kansas Department of Health and Environment

Vince Romero


Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department

Michael Showalter

Health Promotion/HIV Prevention Specialist

Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department

Jeff Severin


Campus Planning and Space Management

Stephanie Dyson Elms/
Jen Arbuthnot

Administrative Assistant

Policy Office

Chris Tilden

Director of Community Health

Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department

Jane Tuttle

Associate Vice Provost

Student Affairs

Dee Vernberg


Lawrence-Douglas County Health Department

Selena (Zihan) Xiao


KUAAP Student Leadership Council

The Stakeholder Committee served as an advisory role to:

  • provide advice on how a tobacco-free KU environment may be best achieved;
  • provide resources as appropriate or possible;
  • connect the KU initiative with other relevant programs; and to
  • serve as cultural change agents in achieving a tobacco-free KU environment.

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today